About 2019-04-21T21:05:38+00:00

Committee Members 2019

A Voluntary, Non-political, Non-partisan Organization of Everyday Canadian

Founding Chair and Honorary Life Member: Nancy Siew
Co-Chair: Jason Kwok, William C Wong
Treasurer: Desmond Wong
Project and Website: Benjamin Lau
Secretary: Ellen So
Public Relation: Raymond Hung
Member: Larry Lau, Don Ho, Bill Kan, Kevin Yip,
Robert MacDonald, Imran Hasan, Nirmala Armstrong


Began in the U.S. as Asian/Pacific American Heritage Week in 1978 and in 1990, extended to a month.

1993 – Canada began celebrations of Asian Heritage Month.

May, 2001 – Motion introduced in the Senate by Senator Poy, that the month of May be recognized as Asian Heritage Month, given the important contributions of Asian Canadians and its present significance to this country.

May 21, 2002 – an official declaration is signed by Senator Poy and other Members of Parliament in Ottawa.

Nancy M. Siew and her team played a crucial role in promoting Asian Heritage Month in Ontario. Since 2003, we extol Asian values such as respect, compassion and integrity. We have worked with School Boards, Toronto Transit Commission (TTC), Queen’s Park, Universities, United Way of York Region, The Blue Jays, The Toronto Public Library, Bata Shoe Museum and many others. We invited communities in the 519, 905 and 715 telephone areas to celebrate this meaningful Federal initiative in honour of Canadians of Asian extraction.


Hon.Lt-Colonel L. J. Goffart, CD, QC,

Queen’s Own Rifles of Canada Regiment